French Open star avoids DQ after firing ball into the group and smashing a fan

French Open star Terence Atmane amazingly escaped any punishment after he fired a tennis ball into the crowd.

Atmane, 22, had taken a two-set lead in front of his home crowd over Sebastian Ofner during Roland Garros. However, he shipped the third set and then fell a double-break behind to the Austrian – and he struggled to contain his emotions.

The Frenchman cannoned a forehand shot into the crowd, and it smashed into a female spectator in the crowd. Ofner immediately called for Atmane’s disqualification as Court 12 fell into a stunned silence.

READ MORE: Meet the TikTok sensation named after Zinedine Zidane who is set to star at Roland Garros

READ MORE: Emma Raducanu was banned from having boyfriends before meeting billionaire beau

Join the Daily Star’s WhatsApp for the sexiest headlines, showbiz gossip and lots more

A man laughing at his phone, a sassy womanm the whatsapp logo and an alien in a suit.

The Daily Star is now on WhatsApp and we want you to join us!

Through the app, we’ll send you the sassiest showbiz stories, some naught headline and a seismic smattering of aliens…along with the latest breaking news of course.

To join our community, all you have to do to join is click on this link, select ‘Join Chat’ and you’re in!

No one will be able to see who has sign up and no one can send messages except for the Daily Star team. We also treat our community members to competitions, special offers, promotions, and adverts from us and our partners.

If you don’t like our community, you can check out any time you like. To leave our community click on the name at the top of your screen and choose Exit group. If you’re curious, you can read our Privacy Notice.


The umpire and the supervisor were locked in conversation, while another official made his way to the spectator to check if she was OK. And after a 15-minute delay, Atmane was eventually given a warning for unsportsmanlike conduct.

Jose Morgado, a tennis journalist, fumed on X: “On court 12, Atmane hit a spectator with a ball in frustration. Ofner wanted disqualification, umpire and supervisor disagree. Surprised with this decision.”

What do you think of Terence Atmane not being disqualified? Let us know in the comments section

Terence Atmane
Terence Atmane smashed his shot into the crowd

Ofner, despite the controversy, was able to advance to the second round with a 3-6, 4-6, 7-6, 6-2, 7-5 triumph.

He admitted he was shocked his opponent wasn’t disqualified: “For me, it was a bit surprising, because if you do something like that on a small court, you have to be punished, you know? Because it’s not like you hit the ball normally. It was full power. The ball was so fast. Straight in the crowd. There were people disqualified for less.

“The referee said, ‘Oh, yeah, I was talking with the lady. The lady said at the beginning it was hurting but now it’s fine, and everything was OK. She saw the ball coming. So it’s not enough for disqualification.’

“I think if he would see how it was, maybe he would decide different. A little bit more unlucky and it’s going directly in the face. And then something can happen (like) a broken nose or whatever.”